Wage and hour laws in Missouri applies to employees who work for more than 40 hours per week. However, there are certain exemptions, such as those in computer-related professions and outside sales workers. Additionally, Missouri does not require rest or meal breaks, though federal law does require them for a nursing mother for up to a year. However, this law does not require employers to give employees rest breaks. So, if you’re an employer in Missouri, you should take the time to learn more about your legal rights and responsibilities.
Missouri’s minimum wage is $7.65 an hour, though it can increase or decrease annually depending on the Consumer Price Index. In contrast, the federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. If your employer is paying below this minimum wage, you’re entitled to the higher of the two. If the federal minimum wage is higher, you’re entitled to the higher. But what about the minimum wage in Missouri? There are some exceptions.
Missouri’s laws protect employees against unfair discrimination and unfair treatment. Those employed by companies must be paid at least twice per month and receive their paychecks within 16 days of payroll. However, employers must pay employees whose work requires overtime, 1.5 times the regular rate of pay. In case of noncompliance, employers must pay wages within 30 days and six percent of their employees’ salaries if they fail to pay on time.
There are also many specific laws to protect the rights of employees. For example, Missouri’s Fair Employment Practices Act prevents employers from denying equal wages to employees based on race, religion, national origin, or age. Employers are also prohibited from discriminating on these grounds, as long as they are committing violations of the law. It’s important to consult with a qualified attorney to make sure you are protected.
Generally, the Missouri Wage and Hour Act requires employers to pay employees for the hours they actually work. Those employees who work more than forty hours per week must be paid overtime pay at least 1.5 times their regular rate. Additionally, employers cannot deny overtime pay to commissioned employees. Moreover, the federal Fair Labor Standards Act does not require employers to pay employees for simply showing up to a meeting, even if no work is being done.
The Missouri Wage and Hour Act offers reasonable guidance for employers on various employment issues. Among other things, it regulates minimum wage rates and the hourly rate. Additionally, the laws also cover overtime compensation, and employers must pay their employees the standard minimum wage. The Missouri Wage and Hour Division handles complaints about unpaid overtime compensation. A good attorney will help them navigate the complicated legalities involved in these situations. If you’re concerned about your rights, contact a local employment attorney today.